Bookmark and Share

Skrufff Recommends ::

Reported by Trackitdown TID on April 3, 2006 (To hear these tunes, tune into the Skrufff Show on Ministry Of Sound Radio, every Tuesday from 18.00-20.00 GMT +1)


1: Wee Kids: Flavour Freaks EP


With their debut single from last year ‘Turn The Music To Your Head’ being a guaranteed, take-no-prisoners electro-disco floorfiller, France’s Wee Kids should be rights be clubland or even household names, and equally effective follow up single Disco Sucks suggests it’s only a matter of time.


That they’re not, is partly due to the delightfully low key approach their label Level 75 have so far taken (‘we still don't have a bio for Wee-Kids... should do something about that soon’, they charmingly told Skruff this week). That they will be, is surely just a matter of time. Sound clips of Disco Sucks are below; listen (and license); we love it.


2: Medicine 8: The Flea (And Now It Sucks Me) (Regal Recordings)


UK rock-house brothers Liam and Luke May follow up their excellent recent single Rocks (Make Her Temperature Rise) with an equally effective, simple but powerful dance floor monster, that’s guaranteed to whip dance floors into a hands-in-the-air, screaming frenzy.


Described as ‘Part 2 of a two part set of brand new recordings’ Flea’ is very similar in style and flavour to Rocks, its principal difference being that the disembodied robotic vocal is delivered by a female voice this time.  Rocking.


3: (Album Of The Week): James Holden: At The Controls (Resist Music)


“Mostly I hate DJ mixes, so that’s the main thing that influenced this - trying to justify my 2 CDs with a load of music that I really love. Lot’s of it comes from the little family of friends around Border Community. And recommendations from my hairdresser.”


Speaking on the press release accompanying his highly listenable new CD, Border Community maestro James Holden is both typically sharp and simultaneously humble, reflecting his own unusual personality of quiet Oxford graduate turned fearless tastemaker supreme. And while his hairdresser undoubtedly should spend more time concentrating on hair, James’ follically challenged loss is the compilation’s gain, since At The Controls is a fine, seamlessly sequenced mix of mainly minimal trance.


Standout tracks include Nathan Fake’s new one Charlie’s House, James’ new mix of Black Strobe’s Nazi Punks and Plastikman’s Cor Ten (appearing twice).


At The Controls is out now. (To win a copy of our Skrufff Album Of The Week, tune into the Skrufff Show, Tuesday 18.00-20.00 GMT+1)



Jonty Skrufff (